Formula 1 Hopeful Jehan Daruvala Ignored For Arjuna Award By FMSCI


Indian motorsports federation’s choice to disregard Formula 1 hopeful Jehan Daruvala and suggest off-road racer Aishwarya Pissay for the Arjuna Award has raised a number of eyebrows within the fraternity however the FMSCI on Friday defended the choice saying the younger driver’s “time will come quickly”. The FMSCI despatched the names of Pissay, ace biker C S Santosh and 2016 Asia Max Karting Champion Shahan Ali Mohsin to be thought of for the nation’s second highest sporting honour. Daruvala, who’s 21, has achieved a number of firsts as an Indian racer within the final decade together with the efficiency up to now 4 years which is taken into account for the Arjuna Awards.

Final 12 months, Indian motorsport had damaged the glass ceiling after years of try as rally driver Gaurav Gill received the Arjuna Award after being ignored thrice. 

“Jehan’s title was mentioned and he is among the stars of Indian motorsport. If anybody can attain Formula 1 within the close to future it’s him and would be the third one to take action (after Narain Karthikeyan and Karun Chandhok). His time will come very quickly,” FMSCI vice-president Shivu Shivappa, informed PTI. 

Shivappa additionally heads the four-wheel racing fee of FMSCI. Daruvala is the primary Indian to win the historic New Zealand Grand Prix (2017). 

He secured eight podiums within the FIA Formula three European Championships over two seasons (2017-2018) together with couple of race wins. 

Final 12 months, he received one dash and one function race within the all new FIA Formula three Championships earlier than graduating to a different Formula 1 help collection, Formula 2. 

Daruvala even had the Championship lead final season however ended up ending a creditable third with seven podiums. Forward of the Formula 2 season, which has been postponed to July on account of COVID-19 pandemic, Daruvala was signed by four-time world champions Purple Bull for its junior driver program. 

FMSCI president J Prithviraj informed PTI that the respective commissions within the federation shortlisted the names for Arjuna nominations to the FMSCI council which ultimately beneficial off-road racers Pissay and Santosh in addition to Shahan Ali Mohsin. 

Racer turned coach Akbar Ebrahim has been beneficial for the Dronacharya Award. 

Former president Vicky Chandhok, who’s a part of the FMSCI council, mentioned he want to see Daruvala’s title being proposed sooner or later because the “boy is delivering outcomes”. 

Nonetheless, a supply within the FMSCI mentioned that it’s unlikely that the FMSCI nominations for the Arjuna Awards will get the nod of Sports activities Ministry-appointed panel. 

“It’s unlikely given their efficiency over the previous 4 years. Santosh has competed in Dakar Rally often however has not been near a podium. Aishwarya has received a world title however I doubt she has achieved sufficient. Jehan simply had the perfect likelihood given his efficiency,” the supply mentioned. 

Santosh is the primary Indian to compete within the prestigious Dakar Rally with 34th being his greatest ever end until date. Pissay turned the primary Indian girl to win a world title final 12 months when she secured the FIM Baja World Cup after 4 rounds. 

The 24-year-old was the one one within the subject to compete in 4 rounds and got here final in three out of 4 races. She ended up successful the title on technicality grounds. 

Matters talked about on this article


Source link